Imaging Structure & function in the Nervous System

Advances in light microscopy, digital image processing, and the development of a variety of powerful fluorescent probes present expanding opportunities for investigating the nervous system, from synaptic spines to networks in the brain. This intensive laboratory and lecture course will provide participants with the theoretical and practical knowledge to utilize emerging imaging technologies. The primary emphasis of the course will be on vital light microscopy. Students will learn the principles of light microscopy, as well as use of different types of electronic cameras, laser scanning systems, functional fluorophores, delivery techniques, and digital image-processing software. In addition to transmitted light microscopy for viewing cellular motility, the course will examine a variety of molecular probes of cell function, including calcium-sensitive dyes, voltage-sensitive dyes, photo-activated ("caged") compounds, and exocytosis tracers. Issues arising in the combination of imaging with electrophysiological methods will be covered. Particular weight will be given to multi-photon laser scanning microscopy and to newly available biological fluorophores, especially Green-Fluorescent Protein (GFP) and its variants. We will use a spectrum of neural and cell biological systems, including living animals, brain slices, and cultured cells.

Applicants should have a strong background in the neurosciences or in cell biology. In their personal statements, applicants should specify: 1) their experience with optical techniques, 2) how they will apply optical methods in their current projects, 3) the microscope systems available to them, and 4) their long-term goals in learning more about optical methods.
+ show speakers and program
David DiGregorio, Institut Pasteur, France
Jack Waters, Northwestern University
Karen Zito, University of California Davis

Lecturers in the 2012 course included: Florin Albeanu, Marco Canepari, Karl Deisseroth, Winfried Denk, Jeremy Dittman, Valentina Emiliani, Florian Engert, Marla Feller, Oliver Griesbeck, Mark Hubener, Fred Lanni, Jeff Lichtman, Jerome Mertz, Valentin Naegerl, Axel Nimmerjahn, Murali Prakriya, Kate Pritchard, Andy Shih, Philbert Tsai, Keith Weninger, Linda Wilbrecht & Jan Witkowski.

24 Jul - 13 Aug 2013
Cold Spring Harbor
United States of America
meeting website