International Retroviral Nucleocapsid Protein and Assembly Symposium

This 9th International Retroviral Nucleocapsid Protein and Assembly Symposium will be held in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, from the 25th to 28th of August, 2013. Montreal, known as the city of festivals, at this time is gloriously warm and enjoyed by visitors from all around the world. It is a culturally diverse city with the two major languages, French and English, spoken on the streets, in stores and in restaurants. The World Film Festival coincides with the timing of this meeting.
The conference has historically focused on the multiple roles of Nucleocapsid (NC) protein of retroviruses, which is involved in the synthesis, maintenance and integration of proviral DNA and in virus particle assembly. Its role as a chaperone protein is perhaps its most important function as it promotes reverse transcription and coats the retroviral genomic RNAs. In the context of Gag, NC promotes viral RNA assembly and dimerization and interacts with several host cell factors. It is therefore a prime target for anti-HIV-1 therapy. In the 2013 edition of the meeting in Montreal, we have extended the focus of the meeting to include the latest developments in viral RNA function, metabolism and trafficking, restriction factors and on the control of viral assembly. In addition, we have invited speakers with topical expertise in structural biology and anti-viral therapies to round out the meeting and to recognize where the virology field is moving in the future.
+ show speakers and program
Keynote Speakers

Mark Wainberg, Ph.D.
Sarah Woodson, Ph.D.

Confirmed Speakers

Alan Rein (NCI, NIH)
Andrew Mouland (McGill)
Ben Berkhout (Netherlands, EU)
Bruce Torbett (Scripps)
Chen Liang (McGill)
Delphine Muriaux (CNRS, France)
Éric Cohen (IRCM)
Eric Freed (NCI, NIH)
Eric Poeschla (Mayo Clinic)
Gilles Mirambeau (IDIBAPS, Barcelona)
Heinrich Gottlinger (UMass)
Jaisri Lingappa (Washington)
Jim Hurley/Lars-Anders Carlson (NIH)
Judith Levin (NICHD, NIH)
Karin Musier-Forsyth (Ohio State)
Kathly Boris-Lawrie (Ohio State)
Larry Kleiman (McGill)
Leslie Parent (Penn State)
Mark Williams (Northeastern)
Maurizio Botta (Italy)
Michael Laughrea (McGill)
Michael Summers (UMBC)
Robert Gorelick (NCI, NIH)
Victoria D’Souza (Harvard)
Wei-Shau Hu (NCI, NIH)
Yun-Xing Wang (NIH)
Yves Mely (CNRS, Strasbourg)

25 Aug - 28 Aug 2013

meeting website