AAA+ proteins: from mechanism and disease to targets

AAA+ (ATPases Associated with diverse Activities) proteins share a common catalytic ATPase domain, but are otherwise involved in a large variety of fundamental cellular pathways that govern protein homeostasis, genome stability, cell proliferation and pathogen infection. This meeting gathers scientists from different research areas and disciplines to establish unifying mechanisms, help understand the basis of AAA+-associated diseases, and explore emerging possibilities to target AAA+ proteins for therapeutic treatments.

The meeting will cover topics such as:
structure-function relationships and mechanisms of AAA+ proteins,
bacterial and eukaryotic proteasomes,
chromatin-associated functions such as replication and transcription,
cell cycle regulation,
cytoskeleton dynamics and membrane traffic,
AAA+ - associated degenerative and infectious diseases
pharmacological approaches to modulate AAA+ protein function.
+ show speakers and program
Tentative Programme
Sunday Sept. 15
Arrival and Registration

Monday Sept. 16 - Thursday Sept. 19
Oral Session Topics:
▪Mechanisms and structure-function relationships
▪Bacterial and eukaryotic proteasomes
▪Chromatin-associated functions
▪Organelles and membrane traffic
▪Cytoskeleton and other functions
▪Pharmacological approaches to AAA+ proteins
▪Disease-associated functions
Short talks selected from abstracts
Poster session
Afternoon excusions and banquet/BBQ

Thursday Sept. 19
Departure around 1pm

Martin Buck, Imperial College, London UK
Bernd Bukau, University Heidelberg DE
Andrew Carter, LMB Cambridge UK
Catherine Dargemont, Institut Jacques Monod FR
Raymond Deshaies, Caltech Pasadena US
Paul Freemont, Imperial College London UK
Yukio Fujiki, Kyushu University JP
Phyllis Hanson, Washington University St. Louis US
Manajit Hayer-Hartl, MPI Martinsried DE
Walid Houry, University of Toronto CA
Masaya Imoto, Keio University JP
Tarun Kapoor, Rockefeller University US
Andreas Martin, UC Berkeley US
Mike Maurizi, National Cancer Institute US
John Mayer, University of Nottingham UK
Teru Ogura, Kumamoto University JP
Elena Rugarli, University of Cologne DE
Bob Sauer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology US
Sen-Fang Sui, Tsinghua University CN
Eilika Weber-Ban, ETH Zurich CH
Chris Weihl, Washington University St. Louis US
Petra Wendler, LMU Munich DE
Dale Wigley, Institute of Cancer Research, London UK
Yihong Ye, NIDDK US

15 Sep - 19 Sep 2013
meeting website