Visualizing signaling nanoplatforms at a higher spatiotemporal resolution

The aim of the symposium is to bring together a multidisciplinary group of world-leading scientists to further our understanding on the fundamental molecular mechanisms that govern nanostructures and protein function relationships at the cell membrane. The symposium will cover topics related to the organization of the plasma membrane at the nanoscale, the role of proteins and lipids in signal transduction, and the cortical actin cytoskeleton in organizing and stabilizing membrane domains as well as influencing membrane architecture and signal transduction. We will place a special emphasis on the technologies that are enabling the visualization of membrane nanodomains at unprecedented spatiotemporal resolution.
+ show speakers and program

1. Prof. Stefan Hell, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Gottingen, Germany
2. Prof. Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, Cell Biology and Metabolism Branch, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, USA
3. Prof. Xaiowei Zhuang, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Harvard University, USA
4. Prof. Samuel Hess, Institute of Molecular Biophysics, University of Maine, USA
5. Prof. Jay Groves, Dep. of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley, USA
6. Prof. Didier Marguet, Centre d'Immunologie de Marseille-Luminy, Marseille, France
7. Prof. Markus Sauer, Dep. of Biotechnology and Biophysics, Julius Maximilians University Würzburg, Germany
8. Prof. Bridget Wilson, Dep. Of Pathology, School of Medicine, University of New Mexico, USA
9. Prof. Ken Jacobson – Department of Cell Biology & PhyshiologyPhysiology, University of North Caroline at Chapel Hill, USA
10. Prof. Sergio Grinstein, Dep. of Biochemistry, University of Toronto, Canada
11. Prof. Katharina Gaus, Centre for Vascular Research, University of South Whales, Sidney, Australia
12. Prof. Satyajit Mayor, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore, India
13. Prof. Keith Lidke, Dep. of Physics and Astronomy, University of New Mexico, USA

29 May - 31 May 2013

meeting website