Tuberculosis 2012

Tuberculosis remains an enormous burden to human health, even at the beginning of the 21st century. The situation is worsening in many countries, particularly due to the synergy with the HIV epidemic and the appearance of multi-drug resistant (MDR) or extensively-drug resistant (XDR) tuberculosis. The urgently needed development of new tools that can improve the diagnosis, prevention and/or therapy of tuberculosis and other major mycobacterial diseases depends largely on the progress made by basic and applied research.

The EMBO conference series "Tuberculosis 2012" is an international congress that provides a premium forum for the discussion and exchange of the recent advances of current research and novel trends related to tuberculosis, its causative agent Mycobacterium tuberculosis and related pathogenic mycobacteria. This international meeting to be held from September 11-15, 2012, will take place in the Conference centre (CIS) within the campus of the Institut Pasteur, which can host up to 500 conference delegates and is situated in the center of Paris, France.

The conference will be of interest to researchers, doctors, and representatives from industry with focus on the biology of pathogenic mycobacteria and their interaction with their hosts. Participation by students and scientists in the early stages of their careers is highly encouraged. Tuberculosis 2012 will provide abundant opportunities for networking and exchange of information between senior scientists and professionals, new investigators and students.

+ show speakers and program
Tom Alber (University of California, Berkeley, USA)

Peter Andersen (Statens Serum Institut, Copenhagen, Denmark)

Clif Barry (NIH, Bethesda, USA)

Marco Bellinzoni (Institut Pasteur, Paris, France)

John Blanchard (Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, USA)

Erik Boettger (University of Zurich, Switzerland)

Daria Bottai (University of Pisa, Italy)

Patrick Brennan (Colorado State University, Fort Collins, USA)

Priscille Brodin (INSERM, Institut Pasteur Lille, France)

Roland Brosch (Institut Pasteur, Paris, France)

Luiz Pedro de Carvalho ( (NIMR, London, UK)

Stewart Cole (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland)

Sabine Ehrt (Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, USA)

Joanne Flynn (University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, USA)

Christophe Guilhot (CNRS, IPBS Toulouse, France)

Rajesh Gokhale (National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi, India)

Jacques Grosset (John Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA)

Monica Hagedorn (Bernhard Nocht Institut, Hamburg, Germany)

Mary Jackson (Colorado State University, Fort Collins, USA)

Gilla Kaplan (Univ. New Jersey, Newark, USA)

Stefan Kaufmann (Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Berlin, Germany)

Christian Lienhardt (Stop TB Partnership, WHO, Geneva)

Camille Locht (INSERM, Institut Pasteur Lille, France)

Vadim Makarov (A. N. Bakh Institute of Biochemistry, Moscow, Russia)

Carlos Martin (University of Zaragoza, Spain)

John McKinney (EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland)

Helen Mc Shane (University of Oxford, UK)

Valerie Mizrahi (University of Cape Town, South Africa)

Carl Nathan (Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, USA)

Olivier Neyrolles (CNRS, IPBS Toulouse, France)

Michael Niederweis (Univ Alabama, Birmingham, USA)

Stefan Niemann (Research Center Borstel, Germany)

Anna O'Garra (MRC, Mill Hill, London, UK)

Peter Peters (Netherland Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Lalita Ramakrishnan (University of Washington, Box 357242, Seattle, WA 98195, USA)

Eric Rubin (Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA)

David Russell (Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA)

Christopher Sassetti (University of Massachusetts, Worcester, USA)

David Sherman (Seattle Biomedical Research Institute, USA)

Ludovic Tailleux (Institut Pasteur, Paris, France)

Ying Zhang (Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA; Fudan University, Shanghai, China)

11 Sep - 15 Sep 2012
meeting website