The conference will be held in Seville, a Spanish town famous for its monuments, flamenco, sunny weather and the charm of the South. Our Christian, Muslim and Jewish heritage can be enjoyed in some of the most popular monuments in Seville: the biggest Spanish Catholic Cathedral, the “Giralda” tower, the intricated alleys and streets of the jewish quarter, or the magnificent arabic palace “Reales Alcazares”. Other splendid monuments of the rich Spanish history can be found spread all over the city in churches and small chapels. The University of Seville was founded in 1505 and is one the largest in Spain, with about 60,000 students. Seville can be easily reached by air with direct airport connection with many countries or by high-speed train from Madrid, Barcelona, and Valencia.

The scope of the conference covers the broad topic of fungal genetics, encompassing among other areas molecular and cell biology, genomics and evolution, biotechnology, and pathogenesis. The programme will include three keynote lectures (opening and closing lectures, and a special lecture), fifteen plenary lectures, nine concurrent sessions, and two poster sessions for more informal discussions. These sessions will be complemented with satellite meetings, which will be held prior to the main conference.
+ show speakers and program
Saturday, March 22
17.00-23.00 Satellite meetings. The 11th International Aspergillus Meeting (Asperfest)

Sunday, March 23
09.00-17.00 Satellite meetings
15.00-18.00 Registration
18.00-20.00 Welcome address
Opening Lecture
Chair: Miguel Peñalva (Spain)
Berl Oakley (USA)
20.00-22.00 Welcome reception

Monday, March 24
09.00-12.30 The “Yanofsky” plenary session
Chairs: Arthur Ram (The Netherlands), Marc-Henri Lebrun (France)
Eric Selker (USA)
Gero Steinberg (UK)
Xin Xiang (USA)

Jennifer Loros (USA)
Reinhard Fischer (Germany)

12.30-14.00 Lunch
14.00-16.00 Poster session 1
Concurrent sessions 1

1A: Fungal development
Chairs: Minou Nowrousian, Eduardo Espeso
Minou Nowrousian (Germany)
Eduardo Espeso (Spain)
Steven Harris (USA)
Monika Schmoll (Austria)
Frances Trail (USA)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

1B: Unconventional gene regulation
Chairs: Rosa Ruiz-Vázquez, Joseph Strauss
Rosa Ruiz-Vázquez (Spain)
Joseph Strauss (Austria)
Michel Flipphi (France)
Zacharias Lewis (USA)
Yi Liu (USA)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

1C: Social fungal biology
Chairs: Natalia Requena, Barry Scott
Natalia Requena (Germany)
Barry Scott (New Zealand)
Claire Veneault-Fourrey (France)
Joseph W Spatafora (USA)
Alga Zuccaro (Germany)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

19.00-20.00 Special lecture
Chair: Reyes Roncero (Spain)
Andrés Aguilera (Spain)

Tuesday, March 25
The "Clutterbuck" plenary session
Chairs: David Archer (UK), Gillian Turgeon (USA)

Michelle Momany (USA)
Unai Ugalde (Spain)
Alex Andrianopoulous (Australia)


Stephanie Pöggeler (Germany)
Joseph Heitman (USA)

12.30-14.00 Lunch
Concurrent sessions 2

2A: Sensing the environment
Chairs: Alfredo Herrera-Estrella, Michael Brunner
Alfredo Herrera-Estrella (México)
Michael Brunner (Germany)
Louise Glass (USA)
Alex Idnurm (USA)
Four speakers selected from the abstracts

2B: Putting fungi to work
Chairs: José Arnau, Peter Punt
José Arnau (Denmark)
Peter Punt (The Netherlands)
John Royer (The Netherlands)
Bernard Seiboth (Austria)
Gilles van Wezel (The Netherlands)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

2C: Infecting the host
Chairs: Regine Kahmann, Antonio Di Pietro
Shigeyuki Tanaka (Germany)
David Turrà (Spain)
Daniel Croll (Canada)
Sophien Kamoun (UK)
Dov Prusky (Israel)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

17.00-20.30 Sightseeing tour

Wednesday, March 26
The "Scazzocchio" plenary session
Chairs: Paul Tudzynski, Merja Penttilä

Nick Talbot (UK). The EMBO Lecture.
Thierry Rouxel (France)
Elaine Bignell (UK).


Ángel Martínez (Spain)
Antonis Rokas (USA)
Igor Grigoriev (USA)

12.45-14.00 Lunch
Poster session 2

Concurrent sessions 3

3A: Fungal genomes: now what?
Chairs: Hanna Johannesson, Toni Gabaldón
Hanna Johannesson (Sweden)
Toni Gabaldón (Spain)
Maitreya J. Dunham (USA)
Francis Martin (France)
Jason E Stajich (USA)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

3B: DNA/RNA/protein interplay
Chairs: Ane Sesma, Michael Feldbrügge
Ane Sesma (Spain)
Michael Feldbrügge (Germany)
Mark Caddick (UK)
Kai Heimel (Germany)
Jin-Rong Xu (USA)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

3C: Inside the fungal cell
Chairs: Meritxell Riquelme, Steve Osmani
Meritxell Riquelme (México)
Steve Osmani (USA)
Robert Arkowitz (France)
Michael Bölker (Germany)
Peter Philippsen (Switzerland)
Three speakers selected from the abstracts

19.00-19.30 Poster awards
19.30-20.30 Closing lecture
Chair: Santiago Torres-Martínez (Spain)
Enrique Cerdá-Olmedo (Spain)
21.00 Conference dinner

Thursday, March 27
09.00-12.00 Departure
Satellite meetings. 4th workshop of the Mycorrhizal Genomics Initiative Consortium

23 Mar - 27 Mar 2014
meeting website