The Congress will be held in the beautiful Goudini Spa Resort which is situated at the foot of the Boland Mountains and boasts a well-known natural hot water spring. The venue offers excellent conference facilities in a spectacular mountain setting, in the beautiful Breede Valley vineyards. A full range of accommodation is on offer at the conference site, which together with the all-inclusive registration fee, will allow delegates to enjoy all meals and the entire programme and social activities.

Whether you are a student, a postdoctoral fellow, junior researcher or scientist, or seasoned professional scientist or academic, I am sure you will gain valuable insight, information and inspiration amongst friends, in an appealing, informal and sociable atmosphere.

We have invited an outstanding group of keynote speakers who are known, not only for their seminal scientific contributions, but also for their ability to communicate across a diverse group of ‚’molecularly-oriented’‚ and ‚’inter-generational’ scientists such as we are. We will also be featuring local speakers of similarly high standard, allowing us to focus the programme on the latest and most significant developments in molecular and bioscience research being undertaken in South Africa.

Additionally the congress is an ideal platform for postgraduate students and early-career researchers to present their work and interact with established national and international scientists. As SASBMB places a significant emphasis on supporting young researchers, in addition to the stimulating scientific programme, we are also planning events and sessions that are specifically geared to students and young researchers.
+ show speakers and program
As of November 19th, 2013 we are delighted to announce that the following have accepted invitations to speak at our conference:

International faculty:

• Alan Aderem (Seattle Biomedical Research Institute)
• Jaques Drouin (Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal – affiliated to University of Montreal)
• Colin Goding (Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, University of Oxford)
• Jerry Workman (Stowers Institute for Medical Research, Kansas City, Missouri)
• Peijun Zhang (University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

The organizing committee is honoured to present Professor Colin Goding as the EMBO Keynote lecturer
Local faculty:

• Patrick Arbuthnot (WITS)
• Dave Berger (Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute, University of Pretoria)
• Heini Dirr (WITS)
• Adrienne Edkins (Rhodes University)
• Tim Egan (UCT)
• Stephanie Fanucchi (CSIR)
• Jannie Hofmeyr(University of Stellenbosch)
• Bob Millar (UCT and University of Pretoria)
• Zander Myburg (University of Pretoria)
• Kathy Myburgh (University of Stellenbosch)
• Thumbi Ndung’u (Doris Duke Medical Research Institute, UKZN)
• Hanel Sadie-Van Gijsen (University of Stellenbosch)
• Wolf-Dieter Schubert (University of Pretoria)
• Trevor Sewell (UCT)
• Esta van Heerden (University of the Free State)
• Paul van Helden (University of Stellenbosch)
• Melanie Vivier (Institute of Wine Biotechnology, University of Stellenbosch)
• Digby Warner (Institute for Infectious Disease and Molecular medicine, UCT)
• Marco Weinberg (WITS and Scripps Research Institute)

6 Jul - 9 Jul 2014
South Africa
meeting website