Neurotrauma 2012

On behalf of the National Neurotrauma Society (NNS), I like to warmly invite you to join us in celebrating the 30th Annual Symposium of the National Neurotrauma Society, set at the historic Arizona Biltmore Resort & Spa, Phoenix, Arizona. This year’s three and a half day conference from July 22-25, 2012 has 22 exciting sessions, including six parallel sessions that cover a balance of preclinical and clinical research – so I promise that there will be something for everyone, regardless of your discipline.

The theme of this year’s conference is “The Spectrum of Neurotrauma” - we will focus on several interlinked and topical issues in neurotrauma. In the TBI subarea, one of the understudied areas is pediatric brain injury, which will be featured in this conference. On the other hand, during this past year, we continue to see an explosion of interests and publications in blast brain injury – is it really different from classical TBI? How do you best model it in animals? Do they mimic blast brain injury in humans? Regarding spinal cord injury (SCI), there will be a focused session on various functional deficits and complications after SCI. In terms of neurotrauma management and treatment, we will provide state-of-the-art overviews of the utility of biomarkers and new MRI imaging technology, promising preclinical drug treatment and update of on-going clinical trials in TBI and SCI, including the two on-going progesterone trials. We will also cover the concept that neurotrauma is not only an acute medical problem, but can evolve into a chronic medical condition for the patients. Thus more sophisticated research and clinical tools in neuro-rehabilitation will be the key, as is the understanding of the molecular evolution from TBI to chronic neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE). Lastly, we add a little global flavor by having several international speakers to talk about their TBI management experience in their own countries.

As for our popular Public Education/Outreach Event, this year it will be held at Melvin Cohen Educational Conference Center at the Barrow Neurological Institute at Phoenix Children's Hospital. It will provide an overview of TBI/SCI, NNS research area across the nation and injury prevention. Our target audience is physicians, nurses, allied health workers, athletic trainers, students, patients, families, and other interested individuals.

The Conference venue is the magnificently built Arizona Biltmore Resort & Spa, known as the "Jewel of the Desert”. It provides a restful oasis of 39 acres covered with lush gardens, glistening swimming pools (8), including the famous Paradise Pool featuring private cabanas, a 92-foot waterslide and swim-up bar. These features should keep you cool and refreshed throughout your stay. Exploration-wise, the resort provides guided hikes, jeep tours and mountain bike rentals for excursions to the adjacent preserve and parks. For those who are even more adventurous, I highly recommend visiting the Grand Canyon, one of the Seven Wonders of the World, is only a few hours’ of drive away. The hotel also provides air tours of Grand Canyon. Our Welcome Reception is Sunday, July 22 from 6 pm) please join your colleagues as the sun goes down for a Southwestern reception in the shadow of the mountains. Our Awards Ceremony Dinner is set for Tuesday, July 24. Please join me in a relaxing dinner and then celebrate with your colleagues into the night.

The members of the Program Committee, along with the members of the National Neurotrauma Society, look forward to welcoming you to Phoenix.

We hope you to see you there!
+ show speakers and program
Dr. P. David Adelson, Phoenix Children's Hospital
Dr. Coleen Atkins, University of Miami
Dr. Hulya Bayir, Safar Center for Resuscitation Research
Dr. Michael Beattie, UCSF
Dr. Rachel Berger, Univ. of Pittsburgh SOM
Mrs. Joan Bolzan
Mr. Scott Bolzan
Dr. Helen Bramlett, University of Miami/Miami Project
Dr. David Brody, Washington Univ. SOM
Dr. Andras Buki, University of Pecs, Hungary
Dr. Ross Bullock, Univ. of Florida/Banyan Biomarkers
Dr. Namas Chandra, Univ. of Nebraska
Dr. Sherry Chou, Yale University
Dr. Kenneth Curley, US Army
Dr. Svetlana Dambinova
Dr. Pramod Dash, University of Texas Health Science Center
Dr. Carlos Marques de la Plata, UT Dallas
Dr. YuChuan Ding, Wayne State Univ.
Dr. Alan Faden
Dr. Michael Fehlings, University Health Network
Dr. Raymond Grill , University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Dr. Cecil Hahn, University of Toronto
Dr. Edward Hall , University of Kentucky
Dr. Ronald Hayes, Banyan Biomarkers, Inc.
Dr. Ramona Hicks, NIH/NINDS
Dr. John Houle, Drexel University
Dr. Claire Hulsebosch, Mission Connect
Dr. Jamie Hutchison, The Hospital for Sick Children\University of Toronto
Dr. Ji Yao Jiang, Renji Hospital
Dr. Gary Kamimori, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Dr. Firas Kobeissy, Banyan Biomarkers, Inc.
Dr. Patrick Kochanek, University of Pittsburgh Safar Center
Dr. Zhi Feng Kou, Wayne State University
Dr. Michelle LaPlaca , Georgia Institute of Technology/Emory
Dr. Harvey Levin, Baylor College of Medicine
Dr. Eng Lo, Harvard University
Dr. Josephine Lok , Massachusetts General
Dr. Bruce Lyeth, UC Davis
Dr. Andrew Maas, University Hospital Antwerp
Dr. Radha Maheshwari, USUHS
Dr. Geoff Manley, University of California, San Francisco
Dr. Andrew Maudsley, University of Miami

Dr. Matt McAuliffe, NIH/CIT
Dr. Ann McKee, Boston University
Ms. Emmy Miller, PhD, RN, Baylor College of Medicine
Dr. Stefania Mondello, Banyan Biomarkers, Inc.
Dr. David Okonkwo, Univ. Penn. Medical Center
Dr. Bennet Omalu
Dr. Linda Papa, Orlando Regional Medical Center
Dr. Jose Pineda
Dr. Wai S. Poon, Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong
Dr. Phillip Popovich, Ohio State University
Dr. John Povlishock, Virginia Commonwealth Univ.
Dr. Mayumi Prins, UCLA
Dr. G.K. Prusty
Dr. Alexander G. Rabchevsky, Univ. Kentucky
Dr. Ramesh Raghupathi, Drexel University
Dr. Brad Ringeisen, Naval Research Laboratory
Ms. Claudia Robertson, Baylor College of Medicine
Dr. Stephen Robicsek, University of Florida
Dr. Kathy Saatman, University of Kentucky
Dr. Riyi Shi, Purdue University
Dr. Robert Siman, University of Penn. Medical Center
Dr. Virendra Deo Sinha, S.M. S. Medical College and Hospital
Dr. Donald Stein, Emory University
Dr. Dong Sun, Virginia Commonwealth University
Dr. Frank Tortella, WRAIR
Dr. Allison Vaillancourt, Univ. of Arizona
Dr. Monica Vavilala, University of Washington
Dr. Amy Wagner, University of Pittsburgh
Dr. Kevin Wang, University of Florida
Dr. Van J. Wedeen, Harvard Medical School
Dr. David Wright, Emory University
Dr. Xiao Ming Xu, Indiana University, Stark Neurosciences Research Institute
Dr. Ross Zafonte
Dr. Nathan Zasler, Concussion Care Centre of Virginia, Ltd.
Dr. Li Ying Zhang Wayne State University

22 Jul - 25 Jul 2012

United States of America
meeting website